Blog

Book Birthday Bash: The Hunt for the Mad Wolf’s Daughter

  Happy Book Birthday to THE HUNT FOR THE MAD WOLF’S DAUGHTER! This middle-grade novel is the second in the series. Brave warrior, bloodthirsty villain, vicious lass, wolf’s head—Drest can see herself in most of the names she’ s been called, except the last. Wolf’s head. It’s a sentence of death-without-trial that’s been decreed by…
Read more

THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST is a Winner!

Something AMAZING has happened. THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST won the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award for the Texas/Oklahoma region! It’s always excited to know that your work is appreciated by readers, but this award in particular means so much to me for many reasons. Firstly, SCBWI’s Crystal Kite Awards are the only peer-voted…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Breakout

  Happy Book Birthday to BREAKOUT! This young adult novel is THE MAZE RUNNER meets THE MATRIX. Six days. That’s the amount of time until Lezah’s execution. She’ll die never knowing what got her locked up in this godforsaken prison in the first place. Her only chance of survival is to escape. Except the monitoring…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Nova the Star Eater

  Happy Book Birthday to NOVA THE STAR EATER! In this picture book, Nova has a big appetite for stars, so when she decides to gobble up Earth’s Sun, panic erupts around the globe. Earth needs its Sun to survive! How will it get it back from Nova? One bright little girl has an off-the-wall…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Girls With Guts: The Road To Breaking Barriers and Bashing Records

  Happy Book Birthday to GIRLS WITH GUTS: THE ROAD TO BREAKING BARRIERS AND BASHING RECORDS! GIRLS WITH GUTS is a non-fiction picture book that tells the history of the tenacious spirit of the female athlete form the beginning of civilization until present day, encompassing the passage of Title IX. We’re so happy you’re at…
Read more

From Writing Conference Attendee, to Volunteer, to Faculty

Next week, I will be faculty at my first Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators writing conference, and it feels like a milestone. The first SCBWI conference I attended was in 2007. I was living in Los Angeles then, so attended the huge annual Summer Conference organized by SCBWI headquarters. As a wallflower who…
Read more

Celebrity Meetings and Thanks to the Austin Public Library

I feel like I leveled up as an author recently. I got interviewed by a puppet! None other than Van of Austin Public Library’s The Van Show. I chatted with Van at the Texas Library Association convention in April about books, THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST, and zombie ants. So fun! The video…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Extraordinary Birds

  Happy Book Birthday to EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS! Find hope. Take flight. For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home. Eleven-year-old December knows everything about birds, and everything about getting kicked out…
Read more

Tough Issues, Deep Impact at TLA

One of the highlights of this year’s Texas Library Association conference for me was my panel on Tough Issues – Deep Impact: How Middle Grade Books Can Inspire Empathy and Empower Young Readers. The topic is important to me, but the reason why this panel was a highlight is that the issue came up time…
Read more

Going Local with Authors at TLA

The Texas Library Association convention was in my home town of Austin this year, and I was absolutely thrilled to attend as a speaker — and published author for the first time — speaking on topics that are dear to my heart: local authors and tough issues. Last year, I was on a panel for…
Read more