Category: Book Birthday Bash

Book Birthday Bash: The Land of Yesterday

  Happy Book Birthday to THE LAND OF YESTERDAY! This middle-grade novel is a tender and fantastical adventure story perfect for fans of Coraline. After Cecelia Dahl’s little brother, Celadon, dies tragically, his soul goes where all souls go: the Land of Yesterday—and Cecelia is left behind in a fractured world without him. Her beloved…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Scream All Night

  Happy Book Birthday to SCREAM ALL NIGHT! In this young adult novel, Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Where the Watermelons Grow

  Happy Book Birthday to WHERE THE WATERMELONS GROW! Here’s a note from author Cindy Baldwin about this middle-grade novel: “I first ‘met’ WHERE THE WATERMELONS GROW in an unusual way—I was singing the song ‘Down by the Bay’ to my then-one-year-old, and started thinking about how much the song put me in mind of…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Boy, The Boat, and The Beast

  Happy Book Birthday to MY book THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST! In this middle-grade novel, a boy washes up on a mysterious, seemingly uninhabited beach. Who is he? How did he get there? The boy can’t remember. When he sees a light shining over the foreboding wall of trees that surrounds the shore,…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Ready or Not, Woolbur Goes to School

  Happy Book Birthday to READY OR NOT, WOOLBUR GOES TO SCHOOL! In this funny empowering picture book, Woolbur’s eternal optimism faces off against the worries of going to school for the first time. Learning to write, paint, share, eat strange food and ride the bus are just a few things Woolbur finds fascinating about…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The House That Lou Built

  Happy Book Birthday to THE HOUSE THAT LOU BUILT! Everyone, #MeetLOU! Lou’s twelve, loves DIY, and has a big dream: to build her own tiny house. Lou comes from a huge extended Filipino American family and while she loves them dearly, she sometimes longs for a space of her own (what kid doesn’t?!). However,…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Just Under the Clouds

  Happy Book Birthday to JUST UNDER THE CLOUDS! JUST UNDER THE CLOUDS is a middle grade novel about a homeless girl, Cora, in Brooklyn, trying to understand where she belongs and how she’ll find a place for her family to call home. It’s about sisters and friendships and climbing trees, all while surveying the…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Spirit of Cattail County

  Happy Book Birthday to THE SPIRIT OF CATTAIL COUNTY! In this middle-grade novel, Sparrow doesn’t have many friends. Some kids believe her house near the swamp is haunted. Others think there’s something “unusual” about her. But Sparrow’s not lonely — she has a best friend who’s always with her. He sits with Sparrow on…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Accidental Bad Girl

  Happy Book Birthday to THE ACCIDENTAL BAD GIRL! In this young adult novel, after getting caught hooking up with her best friend’s ex on the last day of junior year, Kendall starts senior year friendless and ostracized. She plans to keep her head down until she graduates. But after discovering her online identity has…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: When the Beat Drops

  Happy Book Birthday to WHEN THE BEAT DROPS! In this young adult novel, 17-year-old Mira has always danced to her own beat. A music prodigy in a family of athletes, she’d rather play trumpet than play ball—and with her audition to a prestigious jazz conservatory just around the corner (and her two best friends…
Read more