Tag: Middle Grade

Book Birthday Bash: After Zero

  Happy Book Birthday to AFTER ZERO! In this middle grade novel, twelve-year-old Elise carries a notebook full of tallies, each page marking a day spent at her new public school, each stroke of her pencil marking a word spoken. A word that can’t be taken back. Five tally marks isn’t so bad. Two is…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Splintered Light

  Happy Book Birthday to THE SPLINTERED LIGHT! Here’s author Ginger Johnson to introduce this middle-grade novel… “When my oldest son was a baby, I spent a lot of time pushing a stroller and walking the neighborhood streets in a sleepless haze. This coincided with reading a collection of essays about physics, cosmology, astronomy, etc.,…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Hotel Between

  Happy Book Birthday to THE HOTEL BETWEEN! In this middle-grade novel, a boy uses the enchanted doors of a magic hotel to travel the world in search of the father he never knew. It’s the first in a middle grade adventure series full of world travel, wondrous magics, and hidden dangers. We’re so happy…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Magic of Melwick Orchard

  Happy Book Birthday to THE MAGIC OF MELWICK ORCHARD! This middle-grade novel tells the story of 12 year-old Isa, who finds herself becoming invisible to her family when her younger sister develops cancer. But everything changes when she discovers a mysterious orchard that offers hope, a little magic, and possibly a lot more trouble……
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: If This Were a Story

  Happy Book Birthday to IF THIS WERE A STORY! This middle-grade novel is a story about ten-year-old Hannah and how she uses her imagination to overcome bullying at school and problems at home. We’re so happy you’re at our party for IF THIS WERE A STORY. Join in the fun… PARTY SOUNDS… There would be…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Cryptid Catcher

  Happy Book Birthday to THE CRYPTID CATCHER! THE CRYPTID CATCHER is a monstrously fun adventure middle-grade novel about a boy’s search for legendary creatures like The Loch Ness Monster and Bigfoot! We’re so happy you’re at our party for THE CRYPTID CATCHER. Join in the fun… PARTY SOUNDS… The theme song to Indiana Jones…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Land of Yesterday

  Happy Book Birthday to THE LAND OF YESTERDAY! This middle-grade novel is a tender and fantastical adventure story perfect for fans of Coraline. After Cecelia Dahl’s little brother, Celadon, dies tragically, his soul goes where all souls go: the Land of Yesterday—and Cecelia is left behind in a fractured world without him. Her beloved…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Where the Watermelons Grow

  Happy Book Birthday to WHERE THE WATERMELONS GROW! Here’s a note from author Cindy Baldwin about this middle-grade novel: “I first ‘met’ WHERE THE WATERMELONS GROW in an unusual way—I was singing the song ‘Down by the Bay’ to my then-one-year-old, and started thinking about how much the song put me in mind of…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Boy, The Boat, and The Beast

  Happy Book Birthday to MY book THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST! In this middle-grade novel, a boy washes up on a mysterious, seemingly uninhabited beach. Who is he? How did he get there? The boy can’t remember. When he sees a light shining over the foreboding wall of trees that surrounds the shore,…
Read more

Release Day! THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST is Out

IT’S RELEASE DAY for my debut novel, THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST!!! The story I started writing in 2010 was published by Paula Wiseman Books/Simon & Schuster today, and I can’t be more excited. This story about a boy stuffed full of fear has a journey very close to the Boy himself. I…
Read more