Tag: Middle Grade

Book Birthday Bash: Extraordinary Birds

  Happy Book Birthday to EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS! Find hope. Take flight. For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home. Eleven-year-old December knows everything about birds, and everything about getting kicked out…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Bone Hollow

  Happy Book Birthday to BONE HOLLOW! In this middle-grade novel, death is only the beginning… In retrospect, it was foolish to save that chicken. On the roof. In the middle of a thunder storm. But what choice did Gabe have? If he hadn’t tried to rescue Ms. Cleo’s precious pet, she would’ve kicked him…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Song For a Whale

  Happy Book Birthday to SONG FOR A WHALE! In this middle-grade novel, the only place twelve-year-old Iris really feels at home anymore is in her electronics workshop where she repairs antique radios. She’s the only deaf student at her school, so she can’t talk to the other kids there. And she’s a frequent guest…
Read more

Celebrating Spooky Middle Grade Books

I’ve always loved spooky stories. Give me a monster, a pair of old bones, or a cracked grave stone, and I’m hooked… as long as I can close the book if I get too scared. 😉 When I wrote THE BOY, THE BOAT, AND THE BEAST, I didn’t set out to write a spooky book.…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Prophet Calls

  Happy Book Birthday to THE PROPHET CALLS! In this middle-grade novel, 13-year-old Gentry Forrester feels lucky to live in a polygamous community among God’s chosen people in the Prophet’s compound. But when the incarcerated Prophet’s revelations begin to threaten her family, Gentry is faced with conforming to his terrible demands or discovering what it…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Turnaway Girls

  Happy Book Birthday to THE TURNAWAY GIRLS! This dark middle grade fantasy is set on an isolated island called Blightsend. On Blightsend, girls are not allowed to make music and are instead forced to turn boys’ songs into gold. But when twelve-year-old Delphernia Undersea begins to sing in secret, everything changes. We’re so happy…
Read more

#HomeToMe – Winner!

The #HomeToMe Middle Grade Mega Classroom Giveaway is over, and it has been AMAZING! If you didn’t hear about it, the giveaway included 16 middle-grade authors giving away a signed copy of their book as well as a Skype visit. To enter, participants had to share on Twitter or Instagram what home means to them,…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: Skylark and Wallcreeper

  Happy Book Birthday to SKYLARK AND WALLCREEPER! When 12-year-old Lily helps to evacuate her grandmother during Hurricane Sandy, she uncovers secrets of her granny’s past in the French Resistance during World War II. SKYLARK AND WALLCREEPER alternates between New York City in 2012 and southern France in 1944. We’re so happy you’re at our…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: After Zero

  Happy Book Birthday to AFTER ZERO! In this middle grade novel, twelve-year-old Elise carries a notebook full of tallies, each page marking a day spent at her new public school, each stroke of her pencil marking a word spoken. A word that can’t be taken back. Five tally marks isn’t so bad. Two is…
Read more

Book Birthday Bash: The Splintered Light

  Happy Book Birthday to THE SPLINTERED LIGHT! Here’s author Ginger Johnson to introduce this middle-grade novel… “When my oldest son was a baby, I spent a lot of time pushing a stroller and walking the neighborhood streets in a sleepless haze. This coincided with reading a collection of essays about physics, cosmology, astronomy, etc.,…
Read more