Book Birthday Bash: Extraordinary Birds

Book Birthday Bash

 

Happy Book Birthday to EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS!

Extraordinary BirdsFind hope. Take flight.

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut novel about a unique young girl on a journey to find home.

Eleven-year-old December knows everything about birds, and everything about getting kicked out of foster homes. All she has of her mother is the book she left behind, The Complete Guide to Birds: Volume One, and a message: “In flight is where you’ll find me.” December believes she’s truly a bird, just waiting for the day she transforms and flies away to her real home. The scar on her back must be where her wings have started to blossom — she just needs to find the right tree and practice her flying. She has no choice; it’s the only story that makes sense.

When she’s placed with Eleanor, a new foster mom who runs a taxidermy business and volunteers at a wildlife rescue, December begins to see herself and what home means in a new light. But the story she tells herself about her past is what’s kept December going this long, and she doesn’t know if she can let it go… even if changing her story might mean that she can finally find a place where she belongs.

We’re so happy you’re at our party for middle-grade novel EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS. Join in the fun…

PARTY LOCATION…

Party is being held under December’s flight tree.

PARTY SOUNDS…

Beetles and Aretha Franklin–“Eleanor Rigby” (Aretha’s version) and “Black Bird” playing at least a couple times.

PARTY FOOD…

A simple dish–potato and leek soup with sour dough bread.

PARTY GAMES…

“Name that Bird” and time spent jumping rope.

PARTY FAVORS…

Origami birds made by Eleanor, December and Cheryllynn.

Sandy Stark-McGinnis

Sandy Stark-McGinnis

EXTRAORDINARY BIRDS is written by Sandy McGinnis and published by Bloomsbury. You can buy this book at the retailers below…

Sandy McGinnis is a debut author and award-winning poet whose work has appeared in Quercus Review, In the Grove, and Penumbra. She holds an MA in creative writing from San Francisco State University. She teaches fifth grade in California. Find her online at SandyStarkMcGinnis.com.

Did you have fun at the party? Tell the author in the comments!

KEEP CELEBRATING! BUY THIS BOOK AT: IndieBound | Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Books-A-Million

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.